top of page
  • Writer's pictureWoks & Whisks

Lemon Chia Seed Muffins


Meet my latest muffin creation - Lemon Chia Seed Muffins! Looking at pictures of these are already making me want to eat one of these right now...


This came about because of this amazing lemon loaf cake that was gifted to my family by my dad's colleague, and one bite into that cake just immediately made me want to recreate it! I loved every bite of it - buttery, moist, and subtle flavoured with lemon.


But, as with all baked goods, I found it too sweet for my liking (My family's general tolerance for sweets outside would be a 0-25% sugar level)... So, it got me started on my quest to create a lower-sugar content muffin recipe for lemon muffins, which I believe would benefit many of us home bakers who aim to bake healthier options for our families.


I also decided to throw some chia seeds into the batter since I didn't have poppy seeds readily at home, but both would work fine!


Being a big fan of muffins and cakes (not to mention baking them - i've definitely lost count of how many trays of muffins/cupcakes have gone into my oven since i started many years ago), I went back to my trusty basic muffin recipe, and came up with this recipe that is lower in sugar, and filled with lovely citrusy goodness and chia seeds - a superfood!

Without further ado, let's get down to the recipe!


Yields 12 standard-sized muffins with paper liners


DRY INGREDIENTS

220g all-purpose flour

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

1-1.5 tbsp chia seeds (Poppy seeds can also be used if preferred)


WET INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup (115g) unsalted butter, softened to room temperature

120g granulated sugar (To lower the sugar content, I have tried lowering it to 110g before, and if you prefer it sweeter, you can increase the sugar content as well - I have tried up to 150g)

2 large eggs, at room temperature

120g yoghurt (can be Greek or regular plain yoghurt, vanilla-flavoured would work as well. Sour cream is also a good alternative!) , at room temperature

1.5 tsp vanilla extract

4-5 tbsp (60-75ml) of fresh lemon juice (to taste - depending on how strong you would like the lemon taste to be)

⁃ Zest from 1 lemon (more can be used if you enjoy the texture it adds to your muffins)

60ml milk (any will do - I usually use low-fat milk), room temperature

⁃ Optional: berries - strawberry, blueberry, blackberry, chopped into small pieces


GLAZE

2-3 tbsp fresh lemon juice

120g confectioner’s sugar, sifted

NOTE: Adding the glaze would make the lemon taste exceptionally strong, so if you would like to have a more subtle lemon taste, you can consider cutting 1-2 tbsp of lemon juice out from the muffin batter.


INSTRUCTIONS

 
  1. Preheat oven to 215°C (425°F), top-bottom heating function.

  2. Line a 12-count muffin pan with cupcake liners, or lightly grease the pan with cooking spray.

  3. In a large bowl, combine the dry ingredients - flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Mix well and set aside. *NOTE: Do not add in the chia seeds with the dry ingredients, they are to be added at the very end!

  4. In a bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment or a separate mixing bowl, add the softened butter and beat it at medium-high speed for about 30 seconds - 1 minute, until smooth and creamy.

  5. Gradually add in the granulated sugar, continuing to beat the mixture until creamed - the mixture should be pale yellow and fluffy at this point.

  6. With the mixer at medium speed, add the eggs one at a time.

  7. Add in the vanilla extract and yoghurt, and beat the mixture until all wet ingredients are well combined and creamy. Don't forget to scrape down the sides and bottom of the bowl as required!

  8. Lower the mixer's speed to low speed, and gradually add the bowl of dry ingredients together with the wet ingredients - you can split it into 3 or 4 additions; I like to put about 3-4 heaped tablespoons at each time. Once all dry ingredients are added, beat till just incorporated. (This is important to ensure we don't overmix the batter!)

  9. Add the milk, lemon juice, and lemon zest, and continue to beat on low until combined. The mixture should be rather thick by now. (Once again, do NOT overmix!)

  10. Add the chia seeds and berries (if any), and do a simple stir to combine.

  11. Spoon the batter evenly into the muffin pan, filling each ALL THE WAY TO THE TOP! (yes I know this may seem weird, but trust me on this! It's a trick I learnt from Sally's Baking Addiction (one of my favourite baking blogs), and it works all the time!)

  12. Place the muffin pan into the preheated oven at 215°C (425°F) for 5 minutes, then lower the temperature to 175°C (350°F) for another 15-17 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the centre comes clean.

  13. Meanwhile, make the lemon glaze. Whisk the confectioner's sugar and lemon juice together.

  14. Remove the muffins from the oven, and let it cool for 10-15 minutes before glazing them. Drizzle the glaze over.

Enjoy your muffins - I hope you enjoy these healthier treats as much as my family loved it!


Storage Instructions

Given the hot and humid weather in Singapore, many of us actually prefer placing these muffins into the refrigerated, where they can be safely stored for up to 5 days. However, do note that these may cause the muffins to dry up a little. Otherwise, if placed outside, do try to consume them within 2-3 days.

These muffins may also be frozen - I am not too sure about the exact duration, but general rule-of-thumb would be for 2-4 weeks. However, I'm not a big fan of freezing my baked goods - so its really up to you! I


Reheat these muffins in a microwave for about 20-30 seconds before enjoying it for breakfast or afternoon tea!

13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page